What your [blank] says about you

As a human being there are millions of factors that have contributed to what makes me me – both genetic and that of outside influence. I think we could all agree on this, right?

In this age of rife narcissism it seems that people require more and more frequent verification of their status as a human being. I often stumble on empty articles that are titled ‘What your hairstyle says about your personality’ and ‘What your best sex position is according to your zodiac sign’. Now, most people that know me would call me a cynic, but to me this is just obvious bullshit, no?

How can me wearing a low pony or a tight bun determine my personality and tell you whether I am more of a Blake Lively or an Ariana Grande? The abundance of these articles tell me there must be an easily influenced audience for such crap. It tells me, and this is solely my opinion, about the need for confirmation that young girls are just as good as the celebrities they admire, that they too have this so called ‘star quality’.

Is this a dumbed down psychology for the masses? I don’t fully understand the purpose of these articles, maybe I am wrong on their audience. Any enlightenment would be appreciated.

Leave a Reply

